Tag: how to grow my pet sitting business

How to Get More Pet Sitting Referrals

How to Get More Pet Sitting Referrals

Referrals Make The Very Best Pet Sitting Clients
This is the actual icon that Pet Nanny uses in our Welcome Email. Right from the get-go we want our customers to know that we love and appreciate referrals.

Why do referrals make the very best customers?

  1. Referrals are coming to you from someone that has already done business with you and is happy and pleased with the work that your pet sitting business has done for them.
  2. Pet Sitting Referrals that come from friends are also great, because they know that their friend has no ulterior motive other than to do what is best for them.
  3. Referrals are much more likely to buy because they have been given the green light by the 3rd party. They are pre-sold.
  4. You don’t have to spend money on advertising to bring them in as clients.
  5. You don’t have to sell yourself, because someone has already done that for you.
  6. Referrals are the customers who will be more loyal to your business. The psychology behind someone standing up for you and saying how wonderful you are, breeds the loyalty factor.

How to Get More Pet Sitting Referrals quote


How do you generate more referrals?

  1. First and foremost, you have to provide outstanding service. Nobody is going to refer any run of the mill business. These people’s names will forever be attached to you, so they are only going to refer your pet sitting business if your customer service and level of pet care is truly exceptional.
  2. Create a connection with your client’s right from jump street. All new Pet Nanny clients receive a Welcome to Pet Nanny greeting card, which thanks them for their business.
  3. Celebrate their Birthday! Send them a birthday card with a small gift card or discount code to your pet sitting service. I personally believe that Birthday card goes a lot further than a Christmas Card does. Christmas cards and gifts seem to get overlooked due to the hustle and bustle of the holiday season.
  4. Send them handwritten cards. In the digital age with which we live, the art of a handwritten note is becoming rare. If you take the time to do this, it will be noticed and appreciated.
  5. Send thoughtful gifts. Each year (not at Christmas) I send my highest revenue generating clients a gift. It’s usually a care package for their pets, but I’ve also done gift cards, wine and scotch. This will depend on how well you know the client. Take notice to the things they like and surprise them with it!
  6. Ask for the referrals. I know this sound strange, but some people just need to be reminded that you love and appreciate referrals. As noted above, we let our clients know right from the start. I then have reminders and promotional campaigns in place to continue to drive referrals.
  7. ALWAYS thank your clients for referrals. This is a MUST! Do not take for granted these people will continue to send you referrals. You must thank them. I know a painter who continuously received word-of mouth referrals from this one source. I continuously reminded him to thank her, which he did not. Can you guess what happened? That’s right! The referrals dried up. She has not referred him in over 2 years. I warned him.

In short, if your business provides outstanding service and you make your clients feel good and appreciated, you will create a continuous pipeline of the very best clients!

This is a short list of idea. If you have any great ideas to share, please comment below. I would love to hear.

Your Homework Assignment:
Make a list of the things that you currently are doing to generate referrals. Next, brainstorm some ideas which you can implement to greater fuel your referral pipeline. Trust me, you’ll be so glad you did. As soon as I learned the importance of referrals and implemented my own strategies, I saw a huge jump in the amount of new monthly business that Pet Nanny generated. Huzzah!

Howdy, Pet Lover! Are you struggling with attracting new clients to your pet sitting business? Would you like to have a consistent pipeline of new clients coming to your business? Well, wait no longer, my friend. Grab my FREE report, 125 Ways To Get More Pet Sitting Clients. This resource is 100% FREE and is my gift to you. Enjoy!
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5 Reasons Why Your Pet Sitting or Dog Walking Client Prospects Back Out

Sometimes it happens that you have a wonderful conversation with a pet sitting prospect. They are super excited about using your pet sitting or dog walking service and then for what seems like no reason what so ever they back out. You’re left confused thinking, “what happened?”

Any of us who have been in the pet sitting industry knows that this happens often. Sometimes, there is nothing you can do about it, but it’s definitely worth examining.

In my personal experiences it boils down to the following:

#1. Simply put, he or she may not be your ideal dog walking or pet sitting client.

Be honest with yourself, sometimes your gut tells you that this person is going to be difficult, but you ignore your inner voice and decide to sign them up anyhow because you need the money. We’ve all done it and we all have regretted it.

#2. They’re not convinced of the VALUE that you’re dog walking business is offering.

As compared to our competition, my pet sitting service Pet Nanny, offers immense VALUE to our clients. We’ve gone above and beyond to make our service stand out. We truly care about our clients and their pets and will give them nothing but the very best that pet care has to offer. Sometimes a pet sitting prospect may not see the value that you are trying to portray. They think, “pet sitting services are a dime a dozen. It doesn’t matter who I hire, I’ll still get the same result.” In this case you may be speaking too much about processes and not the RESULTS that they receive from using your service… complete and total peace of mind. Attempt to shift some of the things that you are saying in your get acquainted call to focus on the RESULTS that they will receive from using your awesome service.

#3. They’re concerned about the money.

We all know that there are a million pet sitting businesses out there and we also know that there are many that greatly undercut the prices of the more professional services to try and gain clients. Again, the money issue is usually based on the fact that your pet sitting prospect does not see the VALUE in what you are offering. Examine how you are presenting this to your prospects. Just remember, there are some people out there that are bargain shoppers no matter what and guess what… they are NOT your ideal client. There are also some people that may not be able to afford your service. Pet ownership is can be a hefty expense and if they can’t afford your top-notch service than wish them the best of luck and perhaps refer a less expensive service to them.

#4. People want it to be easy.

Make it as easy as you possibly can for pet sitting or dog walking clients to sign-up and use your services. If there is too much hoopla involved, they may move on due to frustration. So, examine your processes and streamline as much as you possibly can to make it as simple and easy as possible.

#5. He or she is the last minute customer that suddenly realizes they have weekend plans but nobody to watch their pets.

I have devoted an entire blog article to this issue. These people call every service in town trying to find someone to help. You then jump through hoops to help them out. Then, when you call them back they say, “awww… thanks, but my Mom is going to watch them.” DO NOT waste your time with these people. I don’t take any reservations for new clients unless I have 3 solid days to process them. 9 times out of 10 these last minute callers will not be your “ideal client” and if they do end up using you that weekend, you most likely will not hear from them again. Trust me on this one. I’ve made this mistake countless times.

pet sitting prospect

Your Homework Assignment: Spend some time and examine feedback from clients that have backed out. Make a list. What are they saying? Is there anything that can be changed?

If it’s a value issue than it’s time to change the way you are speaking to prospects and perhaps changes need to be made in your marketing materials to convey the VALUE you offer and the RESULTS that your clients receive.

Howdy, Pet Lover! Are you struggling with attracting new clients to your pet sitting business? Would you like to have a consistent pipeline of new clients coming to your business? Well, wait no longer, my friend. Grab my FREE report, 125 Ways To Get More Pet Sitting Clients. This resource is 100% FREE and is my gift to you. Enjoy!
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YES! Send Me The Complete Checklist of 125 ways to get more PET SITTING CLIENTS!

 

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Crush Them With Social Proof!

Are you looking to get more pet sitting clients? Of course you are! One best way to bring in new clients is to provide them with social proof. What do I mean by social proof? I’m talking about reviews and testimonials from happy clients that have used your pet sitting service.

Testimonials are a Powerful Client Attraction Tool Click To Tweet

Testimonials from happy clients will put your prospects more at ease about working with you. Let’s face it, hiring a pet sitting service to come into your home while you’re not there to care for your most prized possessions can be a scary thing for people. You will ease their worries by showing them the amazing results that other clients of yours have received. The testimonials will prove that your company is trustworthy.

You should have an entire page on your website solely dedicated to reviews, which should be updated often. The more reviews the better! You can never have too many. Take a look at Pet Nanny’s Reviews’ page.

If you don’t have testimonials yet, go and get them! Remember when I talked about shifting your mindset from… “I don’t have that, so I’m not going to do that.” To… “I don’t have that, I better go and get that!” That is the mindset of a successful entrepreneur. This is your perfect opportunity to put this into practice. Go ask your clients for testimonials!

pet sitting clients

Your Homework Assignment: Create your plan of attack for collecting testimonials to get more pet sitting clients.

  1. Make a list of the clients you love the most and who you know have received fantastic results from working with your pet sitting service.
  2. Type a personal letter to each of them telling them how much you enjoy having them as a client and that you’re looking to fill your client roster with clients just like them. Then ask them if they would be so kind as to share their positive experience with your company in the form of a testimonial?
  3. Request that they include a photo of their pet.
  4. Post it on your website, on your social media channels and anywhere else you can think of.
  5. Thank your clients for writing the testimonial. Send them a greeting card with something like a Starbucks gift card or a free visit. You must never forget to personally thank your awesome pet sitting or dog walking clients! This will breed loyalty.

Howdy, Pet Lover! Are you struggling with attracting new clients to your pet sitting business? Would you like to have a consistent pipeline of new clients coming to your business? Well, wait no longer, my friend. Grab my FREE report, 125 Ways To Get More Pet Sitting Clients. This resource is 100% FREE and is my gift to you. Enjoy!
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YES! Send Me The Complete Checklist of 125 ways to get more PET SITTING CLIENTS!

 

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Stay-In-Touch With Your Pet Sitting Customers

If you want repeat business from your pet sitting customers, you MUST stay-in-touch with them

Before my business coach taught me this concept, it really never occurred to me. In my naive mind I only thought about marketing as a way to bring in new business. I certainly didn’t think about marketing as a way to create repeat business. This was not smart thinking!

Stay Top of Mind With Stay-in-Touch Marketing

The idea behind stay-in-touch marketing is to always be “top of mind” with your ideal pet sitting customers. Meaning, you want to be the very first person they think of when they’re in need of pet care or they hear of someone else who is in need of pet care. Most pet sitting business owners take this for granted and just assume that their past clients will call them. This is not always the case. By keeping in touch with your customers you can count on the fact that they will think of you when the need arises.

Stay-In-Touch Marketing Builds “The Know, Like and Trust Factor” With Your Pet Sitting Customers

There’s that “know, like and trust” thing again that I’m always harping about. If you stay-in-touch with your pet sitting customers, over time you will build a relationship with them. During your communications with them, they are learning more about you and will ultimately come to trust you and your pet sitting business implicitly. If you continue to build these solid relationships with your pet sitting customers, you will never have to worry again about the phone ringing. I can promise you this!

Stay-in-Touch Marketing Increases Your Pet Sitting Customers Lifetime Value (LTV)

What is the lifetime value of a customer? In short, it is the projected revenue that a customer will spend during their time with your business.

An easy math equation that you can use to figure this out is to divide your lifetime gross revenue by the # of lifetime revenue-generating customers.

LTV= Lifetime gross revenue ÷ # of lifetime generating clients.

By simply staying-in-touch with your customers, you will drastically increase the LTV of your pet sitting customers.

Here are some ways for you to stay-in-touch:

  • Ezine
  • Direct mail campaign: birthday cards, pet birthday cards, warm letter etc.
  • Handwritten notes: congratulations, sympathies etc.
  • Gifts: birthday, pet birthday, baby etc.

Remember, you don’t have to touch base with your pet sitting customers for a specific reason. You can always reach out to them just to let them know you’re thinking about them and their pets.

 Stay in Touch With Your Pet Sitting Customers

Your Homework Assignment: Create a system for staying-in-touch with your pet sitting customers. Who are you going to reach out to this week? Write their names down and get moving! If you are always consistent with this marketing strategy, you will always have clients.

Howdy, Pet Lover! Are you struggling with attracting new clients to your pet sitting business? Would you like to have a consistent pipeline of new clients coming to your business? Well, wait no longer, my friend. Grab my FREE report, 125 Ways To Get More Pet Sitting Clients. This resource is 100% FREE and is my gift to you. Enjoy!
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YES! Send Me The Complete Checklist of 125 ways to get more PET SITTING CLIENTS!

 

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How To Track Your Pet Sitting Business Growth

“If you want to make more in your pet sitting business it is crucial that you track and record your income.” 

This was a concept I learned a few years back and I have found it to most certainly be true. In my experience what you track closely and consistently will continuously grow month to month in your pet sitting business. This is such a simple concept, but I promise you, if you implement this tip, I bet you will see the same result.

What you track closely and consistently will continuously grow month to month. Click To Tweet

There are things that you should be tracking each and every month in your pet sitting business, in order to bring more to you. If you’re unsure of what exactly you should be tracking, my advice to you is track everything you want to see GROW, starting with your income.

As the owner of your business it is important that at the end of each and every month you track and record certain numbers and stats and compare them to your past months and past years numbers.

This will give you an unbelievable sense of accomplishment. Sometimes, I’m astounded at the massive growth we experience in a certain month and it feels good to give my team and myself a well-deserved pat on the back.

Other times, I may notice a slump in sales in a certain area of my business, but this gives me notice to ramp up my marketing in that area.

Ok, so what is it you should be tracking each month? Here are 3 basic areas you can start tracking immediately to get the ball rolling.

#1. Total New Clients

Then break that number into categories.

  • New Mid Day Clients
  • New Pet Sitting Clients
  • New House Sitting Clients

#2. Total Monthly Revenue

Then break that number into categories.

  • Mid Day Walking Revenue
  • Pet Sitting Revenue
  • House Sitting Revenue

#3. Total Web Form Submissions

These are the forms that you should have on your website, that gives your visitors/prospects an easy way to contact you and take the next step.

  • Become a Client Submissions
  • Request a Quote Submissions
  • Lead Magnet/Opt-in Offer Submissions

How to Track Your Pet Sitting Business Growth

Here’s an image of my basic spreadsheet, which helps me track my pet sitting business growth.

pet sitting business

Your Homework Assignment: Create an Excel, Numbers or Google Worksheet, broken down into the categories I have listed for you and track these numbers every single month. If you don’t have web forms on your web site, get web forms on your web site. Finally, celebrate your growth!

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11 Ways To Generate Trust With Your Pet Sitting Customers and Prospects

The best piece of advice I can give you for owning a pet sitting business is to create a reputation for yourself and for your business as being “trustworthy.” In this industry, our customers are in essence, giving the keys to their homes to complete strangers. They’re basically saying, “Come on in (while I’m not here) and take care of my precious pals and worldly treasures.” If you think of it from this perspective, you can see how hiring a pet sitting service is a very scary thing for our customers. It is your job to show your pet sitting customers and customer prospects that you and your business can be trusted implicitly. So, how do you create trust with your pet sitting customers and prospects? Here are 11 ways…

#1. Owning a pet sitting business requires a professional website

  • You literally have 3 seconds to make an impression on your website visitors. If you have a poorly designed and unprofessional looking site, it’s going to be a serious detriment to your credibility and will most likely result in lost opportunities.

#2. Include your business phone number at the top of every page on your website

  • Phone numbers that are front and center invoke trust.
  • Answer the phone when it rings! People will feel immediately comfortable if they know they can get a live person on the phone when they call.

#3. Post your credentials on your website by including the logos to associations for which you are affiliated

#4. Crush them with social proof!

  • Showcase the positive experiences of others who have used your pet sitting service. The more the better! If you only have a few, don’t let that stop you. You have to start somewhere.
  • Dedicate an entire page for your positive reviews. Here is an article on how to use social proof when owning a pet sitting business.

#5. Make it personal

  • People trust people. Showcase who you are on your About Us page. Tell your story on this page and be sure to include a picture or a video, so people can connect with you.

owning a pet sitting business

#6. Have a Meet Our Team Page

  • Your prospects will feel more at ease if they can visually see who will be coming into their homes. I suggest using video, but at the very least, include a picture and write-up of each team member.

#7. Have a blog on your website

  • Fresh and relevant content, for which your prospects will find valuable, is not only good for search engine optimization, but it also shows that your business is alive and kicking, which breeds trust.

#8. Include a Privacy Policy

  • Be clear about what you will and will not do with any personal data you collect. Make it easy to read.
  • You can have one generated for you by Ibuenda.

#9. Clearly communicate what your customers can expect from your services

Be crystal clear on exactly what your customers can expect from using your service. Click To Tweet

This is the knowledge-bomb!

  • Don’t ever promise anything that you can’t deliver on. It is better to under-promise and over-deliver.
  • Lay out your Polices and Procedures and be sure they understand all of them.
  • Let them know exactly when they will hear from their sitter to schedule their registration meeting.
  • Let them know exactly how they will hear from their sitter when they are gone.
  • Let them know how you will communicate with them.
  • Let them know exactly what will happen at each and every visit or house sitting stay.
  • Let them know how you will follow-up with them.
  • Let them know how they can schedule and how long they can expect for a service order to be processed.
  • MANAGE THEIR EXPECTATIONS! If you deliver on what you promised, they will trust you and they in turn will spread the word.

#10. Offer a Guarantee

  • Offering a guarantee will alleviate your customer’s sense of risk.
  • Pet Nanny offers a 100% money-back guarantee. I know that we offer superior service, so I’m not worried about people cashing in on this offer, and if a sitter does mess-up, I want to give my customer’s their money back. Why should they pay for a service they didn’t receive?
  • You may from time to time come across an unscrupulous individual, who is purposely trying to take advantage. When you do come head to head with this person, give them the refund and chalk it up as the cost of doing business (I’ll tell you a good story about this at a later time.)

#11. Keep in touch on a regular and consistent basis

  • Creating a “Stay-In-Touch Marketing Plan” will help to keep you top-of-mind with your customers and customer prospects, but it also essential for owning a pet sitting business. When your customers can rely on the fact that they will hear from you on a consistent basis, they also know they can rely on you to take care of their most prized possessions.

 Your Homework Assignment:

  1. Go to your website as if you were a first time visitor and ask yourself, “would I trust me based on this website?” If the answer is no, it’s time to revamp your site.
  2. Start to implement some or all of these 11 ways to generate trust with your pet sitting customers.

Hey there, Newbie Pet Sitter! Are you feeling stuck or overwhelmed with starting your pet sitting business? Fret no longer, my friend. I’ve got ya covered!

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Create Your Ideal Pet Sitting Client Profile

Create Your Ideal Pet Sitting Client Profile Before Mapping Out Your Pet Sitting Business Plan

Identifying who you want to attract as clients to your pet sitting business is the first thing you should do before mapping out your pet sitting business plan. When you know WHO you want to work with, marketing becomes so much easier!

There are numerous things that universally will constitute an ideal pet sitting client.

  • Those who you really enjoy working with.
  • Those who need your help.
  • Those that value what you offer.
  • Those who can easily be identified and contacted.
  • Those who will happily pay what you are worth without attempting to negotiate.
  • Those who write excellent testimonials for you.
  • Those who will refer you time and time again.

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3 Low Cost Marketing Strategies For Professional Pet Sitters

First, I need you to understand that you must think of spending money as professional pet sitters as an investment. For example, say you spent $50 in a month on Google AdWords and those ads brought you in only 1 new client and the lifetime value of a new client is $1,000. You can easily see how that $50 is money well spent. You paid Google to bring you that new client, which you may not have gotten without them and you can expect that on average, that client will spend $1000 with you over their lifetime of using your service. Make sense? Investing in your business is a good thing. That being said…

There are some very effective low cost marketing strategies for professional pet sitters.

professional pet sitters

 #1. Get a website

Nowadays you can create a website for free and pay less than $1 per month for hosting, so there is no excuse why in the digital age we live in, you should not have a business website!

For FREE websites try, Tumblr, DoddleKit or WordPress.

Here is a video on how to easily create a free Tumblr blog site.

Here is a video on how to create a website using WordPress.

For inexpensive hosting, here is a list of the cheapest hosting companies.

 #2. Crush them with social proof.

Testimonials are one of my favorite low cost marketing tools, because they cost you nothing and they do all the selling for you.

Create a page on your website dedicated solely to rave reviews and direct your client prospects there. You can also create your own PDF handout with your very best testimonials. If you want to get fancy, go to www.fiverr.com and have someone create an attractive PDF for you. $5 is serious low-cost!

 #3. Send out a Warm Letter

A Warm Letter is a personal letter written by you to everyone in your address book. Your letter should be “warm” and it should tell your peeps all that’s going on with your business and the best way for them to refer you.

Make sure that the letter is written to the person (don’t make it general) and sign the letter. You can use a Word Doc Mail Merge to personalize the letters. Again, if you don’t know how to do a mail merge, go to www.fiverr.com, search for “mail merge” and hire someone to do it for $5. When choosing who to hire to do your work, make your choice based on their user rating. They can also create your mailing labels template from your list of contacts. Fiverr gives you the ability to have tasks like this completed for next to nothing, so there is no reason you should waste an entire day trying to figure out how to do it on your own.

Your Homework Assignment:

  1. If you don’t have a website, go get one. A website is an absolute business must-have!
  2. Start collecting testimonials from your clients and post them on your website and package them in an attractive PDF handout.
  3. Write a warm letter and mail it to your contacts.

Howdy, Pet Lover! Are you struggling with attracting new clients to your pet sitting business? Would you like to have a consistent pipeline of new clients coming to your business? Well, wait no longer, my friend. Grab my FREE report, 125 Ways To Get More Pet Sitting Clients. This resource is 100% FREE and is my gift to you. Enjoy!
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YES! Send Me The Complete Checklist of 125 ways to get more PET SITTING CLIENTS!

 

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