Tag: how to get more pet sitting clients

How to Get More Pet Sitting Referrals

How to Get More Pet Sitting Referrals

Referrals Make The Very Best Pet Sitting Clients
This is the actual icon that Pet Nanny uses in our Welcome Email. Right from the get-go we want our customers to know that we love and appreciate referrals.

Why do referrals make the very best customers?

  1. Referrals are coming to you from someone that has already done business with you and is happy and pleased with the work that your pet sitting business has done for them.
  2. Pet Sitting Referrals that come from friends are also great, because they know that their friend has no ulterior motive other than to do what is best for them.
  3. Referrals are much more likely to buy because they have been given the green light by the 3rd party. They are pre-sold.
  4. You don’t have to spend money on advertising to bring them in as clients.
  5. You don’t have to sell yourself, because someone has already done that for you.
  6. Referrals are the customers who will be more loyal to your business. The psychology behind someone standing up for you and saying how wonderful you are, breeds the loyalty factor.

How to Get More Pet Sitting Referrals quote

 

How do you generate more referrals?

  1. First and foremost, you have to provide outstanding service. Nobody is going to refer any run of the mill business. These people’s names will forever be attached to you, so they are only going to refer your pet sitting business if your customer service and level of pet care is truly exceptional.
  2. Create a connection with your client’s right from jump street. All new Pet Nanny clients receive a Welcome to Pet Nanny greeting card, which thanks them for their business.
  3. Celebrate their Birthday! Send them a birthday card with a small gift card or discount code to your pet sitting service. I personally believe that Birthday card goes a lot further than a Christmas Card does. Christmas cards and gifts seem to get overlooked due to the hustle and bustle of the holiday season.
  4. Send them handwritten cards. In the digital age with which we live, the art of a handwritten note is becoming rare. If you take the time to do this, it will be noticed and appreciated.
  5. Send thoughtful gifts. Each year (not at Christmas) I send my highest revenue generating clients a gift. It’s usually a care package for their pets, but I’ve also done gift cards, wine and scotch. This will depend on how well you know the client. Take notice to the things they like and surprise them with it!
  6. Ask for the referrals. I know this sound strange, but some people just need to be reminded that you love and appreciate referrals. As noted above, we let our clients know right from the start. I then have reminders and promotional campaigns in place to continue to drive referrals.
  7. ALWAYS thank your clients for referrals. This is a MUST! Do not take for granted these people will continue to send you referrals. You must thank them. I know a painter who continuously received word-of mouth referrals from this one source. I continuously reminded him to thank her, which he did not. Can you guess what happened? That’s right! The referrals dried up. She has not referred him in over 2 years. I warned him.

In short, if your business provides outstanding service and you make your clients feel good and appreciated, you will create a continuous pipeline of the very best clients!

This is a short list of idea. If you have any great ideas to share, please comment below. I would love to hear.

Your Homework Assignment:
Make a list of the things that you currently are doing to generate referrals. Next, brainstorm some ideas which you can implement to greater fuel your referral pipeline. Trust me, you’ll be so glad you did. As soon as I learned the importance of referrals and implemented my own strategies, I saw a huge jump in the amount of new monthly business that Pet Nanny generated. Huzzah!

Howdy, Pet Lover! Are you struggling with attracting new clients to your pet sitting business? Would you like to have a consistent pipeline of new clients coming to your business? Well, wait no longer, my friend. Grab my FREE report, 125 Ways To Get More Pet Sitting Clients. This resource is 100% FREE and is my gift to you. Enjoy!
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Crush Them With Social Proof!

Are you looking to get more pet sitting clients? Of course you are! One best way to bring in new clients is to provide them with social proof. What do I mean by social proof? I’m talking about reviews and testimonials from happy clients that have used your pet sitting service.

Testimonials are a Powerful Client Attraction Tool Click To Tweet

Testimonials from happy clients will put your prospects more at ease about working with you. Let’s face it, hiring a pet sitting service to come into your home while you’re not there to care for your most prized possessions can be a scary thing for people. You will ease their worries by showing them the amazing results that other clients of yours have received. The testimonials will prove that your company is trustworthy.

You should have an entire page on your website solely dedicated to reviews, which should be updated often. The more reviews the better! You can never have too many. Take a look at Pet Nanny’s Reviews’ page.

If you don’t have testimonials yet, go and get them! Remember when I talked about shifting your mindset from… “I don’t have that, so I’m not going to do that.” To… “I don’t have that, I better go and get that!” That is the mindset of a successful entrepreneur. This is your perfect opportunity to put this into practice. Go ask your clients for testimonials!

pet sitting clients

Your Homework Assignment: Create your plan of attack for collecting testimonials to get more pet sitting clients.

  1. Make a list of the clients you love the most and who you know have received fantastic results from working with your pet sitting service.
  2. Type a personal letter to each of them telling them how much you enjoy having them as a client and that you’re looking to fill your client roster with clients just like them. Then ask them if they would be so kind as to share their positive experience with your company in the form of a testimonial?
  3. Request that they include a photo of their pet.
  4. Post it on your website, on your social media channels and anywhere else you can think of.
  5. Thank your clients for writing the testimonial. Send them a greeting card with something like a Starbucks gift card or a free visit. You must never forget to personally thank your awesome pet sitting or dog walking clients! This will breed loyalty.

Howdy, Pet Lover! Are you struggling with attracting new clients to your pet sitting business? Would you like to have a consistent pipeline of new clients coming to your business? Well, wait no longer, my friend. Grab my FREE report, 125 Ways To Get More Pet Sitting Clients. This resource is 100% FREE and is my gift to you. Enjoy!
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5 Reasons Why Your Pet Sitting or Dog Walking Client Prospects Back Out

Sometimes it happens that you have a wonderful conversation with a pet sitting prospect. They are super excited about using your pet sitting or dog walking service and then for what seems like no reason what so ever they back out. You’re left confused thinking, “what happened?”

Any of us who have been in the pet sitting industry knows that this happens often. Sometimes, there is nothing you can do about it, but it’s definitely worth examining.

In my personal experiences it boils down to the following:

#1. Simply put, he or she may not be your ideal dog walking or pet sitting client.

Be honest with yourself, sometimes your gut tells you that this person is going to be difficult, but you ignore your inner voice and decide to sign them up anyhow because you need the money. We’ve all done it and we all have regretted it.

#2. They’re not convinced of the VALUE that you’re dog walking business is offering.

As compared to our competition, my pet sitting service Pet Nanny, offers immense VALUE to our clients. We’ve gone above and beyond to make our service stand out. We truly care about our clients and their pets and will give them nothing but the very best that pet care has to offer. Sometimes a pet sitting prospect may not see the value that you are trying to portray. They think, “pet sitting services are a dime a dozen. It doesn’t matter who I hire, I’ll still get the same result.” In this case you may be speaking too much about processes and not the RESULTS that they receive from using your service… complete and total peace of mind. Attempt to shift some of the things that you are saying in your get acquainted call to focus on the RESULTS that they will receive from using your awesome service.

#3. They’re concerned about the money.

We all know that there are a million pet sitting businesses out there and we also know that there are many that greatly undercut the prices of the more professional services to try and gain clients. Again, the money issue is usually based on the fact that your pet sitting prospect does not see the VALUE in what you are offering. Examine how you are presenting this to your prospects. Just remember, there are some people out there that are bargain shoppers no matter what and guess what… they are NOT your ideal client. There are also some people that may not be able to afford your service. Pet ownership is can be a hefty expense and if they can’t afford your top-notch service than wish them the best of luck and perhaps refer a less expensive service to them.

#4. People want it to be easy.

Make it as easy as you possibly can for pet sitting or dog walking clients to sign-up and use your services. If there is too much hoopla involved, they may move on due to frustration. So, examine your processes and streamline as much as you possibly can to make it as simple and easy as possible.

#5. He or she is the last minute customer that suddenly realizes they have weekend plans but nobody to watch their pets.

I have devoted an entire blog article to this issue. These people call every service in town trying to find someone to help. You then jump through hoops to help them out. Then, when you call them back they say, “awww… thanks, but my Mom is going to watch them.” DO NOT waste your time with these people. I don’t take any reservations for new clients unless I have 3 solid days to process them. 9 times out of 10 these last minute callers will not be your “ideal client” and if they do end up using you that weekend, you most likely will not hear from them again. Trust me on this one. I’ve made this mistake countless times.

pet sitting prospect

Your Homework Assignment: Spend some time and examine feedback from clients that have backed out. Make a list. What are they saying? Is there anything that can be changed?

If it’s a value issue than it’s time to change the way you are speaking to prospects and perhaps changes need to be made in your marketing materials to convey the VALUE you offer and the RESULTS that your clients receive.

Howdy, Pet Lover! Are you struggling with attracting new clients to your pet sitting business? Would you like to have a consistent pipeline of new clients coming to your business? Well, wait no longer, my friend. Grab my FREE report, 125 Ways To Get More Pet Sitting Clients. This resource is 100% FREE and is my gift to you. Enjoy!
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YES! Send Me The Complete Checklist of 125 ways to get more PET SITTING CLIENTS!

 

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3 Low Cost Marketing Strategies For Professional Pet Sitters

First, I need you to understand that you must think of spending money as professional pet sitters as an investment. For example, say you spent $50 in a month on Google AdWords and those ads brought you in only 1 new client and the lifetime value of a new client is $1,000. You can easily see how that $50 is money well spent. You paid Google to bring you that new client, which you may not have gotten without them and you can expect that on average, that client will spend $1000 with you over their lifetime of using your service. Make sense? Investing in your business is a good thing. That being said…

There are some very effective low cost marketing strategies for professional pet sitters.

professional pet sitters

 #1. Get a website

Nowadays you can create a website for free and pay less than $1 per month for hosting, so there is no excuse why in the digital age we live in, you should not have a business website!

For FREE websites try, Tumblr, DoddleKit or WordPress.

Here is a video on how to easily create a free Tumblr blog site.

Here is a video on how to create a website using WordPress.

For inexpensive hosting, here is a list of the cheapest hosting companies.

 #2. Crush them with social proof.

Testimonials are one of my favorite low cost marketing tools, because they cost you nothing and they do all the selling for you.

Create a page on your website dedicated solely to rave reviews and direct your client prospects there. You can also create your own PDF handout with your very best testimonials. If you want to get fancy, go to www.fiverr.com and have someone create an attractive PDF for you. $5 is serious low-cost!

 #3. Send out a Warm Letter

A Warm Letter is a personal letter written by you to everyone in your address book. Your letter should be “warm” and it should tell your peeps all that’s going on with your business and the best way for them to refer you.

Make sure that the letter is written to the person (don’t make it general) and sign the letter. You can use a Word Doc Mail Merge to personalize the letters. Again, if you don’t know how to do a mail merge, go to www.fiverr.com, search for “mail merge” and hire someone to do it for $5. When choosing who to hire to do your work, make your choice based on their user rating. They can also create your mailing labels template from your list of contacts. Fiverr gives you the ability to have tasks like this completed for next to nothing, so there is no reason you should waste an entire day trying to figure out how to do it on your own.

Your Homework Assignment:

  1. If you don’t have a website, go get one. A website is an absolute business must-have!
  2. Start collecting testimonials from your clients and post them on your website and package them in an attractive PDF handout.
  3. Write a warm letter and mail it to your contacts.

Howdy, Pet Lover! Are you struggling with attracting new clients to your pet sitting business? Would you like to have a consistent pipeline of new clients coming to your business? Well, wait no longer, my friend. Grab my FREE report, 125 Ways To Get More Pet Sitting Clients. This resource is 100% FREE and is my gift to you. Enjoy!
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YES! Send Me The Complete Checklist of 125 ways to get more PET SITTING CLIENTS!

 

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How Life Coaching Has Impacted My Pet Sitting Business

How Life Coaching Has Impacted My Pet Sitting Business

Today’s business growth tip explores how I have used life coaching to impact my pet sitting business.

When I first learned about mindset I was taught that our thoughts create our reality. And while that’s true, it’s not quite so simple.

To begin with, I assumed if you just thought happy thoughts things would manifest and you’d be good to go.

But when life coaching came into my life, it took mindset work to a new, more powerful level that shows how you have control over the results you get in your life.

A life coaching model that made one of the biggest impacts on me was created by coach Brooke Castillo who says that all circumstances are neutral. So no matter what happens to you, you decide how you are going to think about it. It’s all up to you. You can choose a negative thought or you could choose a positive thought.

What you are thinking is going to create how you feel.

Circumstances are neutral, thoughts create your feelings, which drive your actions, which create your results.

Is what you’re thinking making you excited or is it making you anxious? Is it making you happy or is it making you sad?

Then your feelings drive your actions. How you’re feeling is what prompts action. If you’re feeling anxious, if you’re feeling overwhelmed, the action probably is going to be some form of inaction.

But if you’re thinking productive, happy, exciting thoughts, the action is going to be to complete the tasks in front of you, which will then create the result in your life.

So what does this mean for you, your life and your pet sitting business?

It means that you can create any single result that you want in your own life by being the watcher of your thoughts.

What are you thinking every day?

What are your belief systems?

So many of us have belief systems around money and what we can do with our businesses.

 

 

I see the difference in mindset approaches with many of my students and members of my Facebook community.

Let’s say I have two separate students. I give them both the same curriculum, the whole A to Z to create amazing businesses. One shows up every week. She goes to the classes, watches the videos, completes the worksheets, she implements, she asks questions, she does masterminding within the community and she gets amazing results.

Then there’s student B. They don’t watch the curriculum, they don’t show up to classes, they don’t ask questions, they don’t become part of the community and therefore they don’t get results.

What do you think is the difference between these two students? They both have the same content available to them, to give them everything they need to have a successful business.

What changes are you ready to make today?

You’ve got to learn how to manage your thoughts so that you can create amazing results in your life. Thoughts equal feelings which drive actions, which create results. I cannot tell you how much this has impacted my life and has impacted my business.

The first step in all of this is just start watching. Start watching when you feel that negative thought or you have an attack thought about something. Say, “Oh, that’s just a thought, and a positive one is also available to me and I’m going to go with that one.”

We recently added a life coach to the Pet Nanny Coaching staff because I think it’s such an important ingredient for success.  I’ve made her available to my scholars. My scholars group includes those students who are successful graduates of my Multiply Mastermind.

You change your thoughts, you change your life. If you change your thoughts, you change your feelings and change your actions and you change your results.  What changes are you ready to make today?

Enter your first name and email address below to download our Team Expansion Tool Kit
It’s 100% FREE!

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The Top 3 Pet Sitting Marketing Mistakes

The Top 3 Pet Sitting Marketing Mistakes

Before we start, I want to make something very clear… If you are looking to scale your business, you need to adopt a certain type of mindset.

You must do your pet sitting marketing consistently to have a flow of new prospects come to your business.

Once you make this shift in consciousness you are going to jump to the next level of success quickly.

MISTAKE #1. Not knowing the average lifetime value of a customer (LTV.)

Learning this one piece of valuable information, completely changed the way I thought about my business and about my customers.

So, what is the lifetime value of a customer? In short, it is the projected revenue that a customer will spend during their time with your business.

A very simple math equation that you can use to figure this out is to divide your lifetime gross revenue by the # of lifetime revenue-generating customers.

LTV= Lifetime gross revenue ÷ # of lifetime generating clients

NOTE: This is the most basic way to figure this out. You can most definitely calculate a more targeted number by doing some more advanced math, but if at the very least you figure this equation, you will have a basic understanding of this concept.

When I did this math, I was astounded at how high that number was. Now I don’t feel badly about offering discounts or running promotions to pull-in new clients.

MISTAKE #2. Not having your company’s Unique Selling Propositions clearly defined.

What are Unique Selling Propositions? They are what set you apart from your competition. It is crucial that you spell out what makes you different, so that your business becomes the only clear choice. There are tons of pet sitting businesses out there all saying the same exact things. Get clear on your USP’s and you will shine in comparison. I named Pet Nanny’s USP’s The Pet Nanny Peace of Mind Blueprint. Take a look. You’ll see that I have clearly listed and explained how Pet Nanny is unique. Until you do this, your company will be like any old vanilla pet sitting service out there.

MISTAKE #3. Not setting goals and mapping out a plan to achieve them.

Here is a simple method for you.

Let’s say you want to make $75,000 next year. This is your annual goal.

Divide this # by 12 and you will get a monthly goal of $6,250.00.

Next, figure out how many clients you need or how many visits or overnights need to happen for you to achieve this.

So, let’s say you would need to have 9 daily mid day walks (with a monthly mid day customer averaging about $340 per month)= $3,060.00

$6,250-$3,060= $3,190

$3,190 is the leftover amount that you would need to generate with your pet sitting visits, house sitting assignments and any other extra services you offer. You could also aim to bring on more monthly customers and hire another walker to help with the walking.

QUOTE - The Top 3 Pet Sitting Marketing Mistakes

 

Once you have these #’s all figured out you can move on to the marketing piece where you map out exactly what needs to be done to bring in new clients and keep your current pet sitting customers happy (this is so important and often forgotten.)

This is where you need to execute your Pet Sitting Marketing Power Wheel. Each section of the wheel will help you reel in new, ideal customers.

Map out on a calendar exactly what you will do every week/month to bring in new leads. Include social media, blogging, article submissions, networking groups, stay-in-touch marketing, direct mail, referral partners, strategic alliances, promotional campaigns, video trainings, giveaways etc. Once you get clear on what marketing needs to happen, you simply plug it into your calendar and it’s done with for the year. You just need to follow the calendar. The key is to do it systematically and automate as much as you can. If you do this, you will always have plenty of clients. Remember to track your goals every week. What you track, grows!

Your Homework Assignment:
You have a lot to do this week.

  1. Figure out the Average Lifetime Value of Your Customer.
  2. Write down your Unique Selling Proposition.
  3. Get clear in your numbers. Set an annual goal and monthly goals and then map out a strategy to achieve them.

Howdy, Pet Lover! Are you struggling with attracting new clients to your pet sitting business? Would you like to have a consistent pipeline of new clients coming to your business? Well, wait no longer, my friend. Grab my FREE report, 125 Ways To Get More Pet Sitting Clients. This resource is 100% FREE and is my gift to you. Enjoy!
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YES! Send Me The Complete Checklist of 125 ways to get more PET SITTING CLIENTS!

 

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Creating Boundaries and Expectations With Your Pet Sitting Customers

I speak with many pet sitting business owners on a weekly basis and something that most all of them have in common is their lack of creating boundaries and expectations when setting up a pet sitting business.

Case In Point

I spoke to a very smart and ambitious owner last week who told me that her dream is to build a million dollar pet sitting business. She then told me that she emails and/or texts all of her customers every Sunday night to see if they’re going to need service for the upcoming week.

I explained to her that setting up a pet sitting business means she must set her business up now for where she wants to take it. Meaning, if she had a million dollar business would she be able to personally text and or email every single customer to see if they need service? No, of course not! She could maybe automate it, but most definitely would not have the time to do it herself.

Creating That Expectation With Her Customers

She is also creating an expectation for her customers. Let’s just say the business grows to a point where she can no longer continue sending out the personal reminders. Her customers are going to be like, “Hey! Where’s my reminder text?” because that is now the expectation that she has created.

My Experience With This

I have personal experience with this exact issue. I once had this very high-maintenance client. My Client Happiness Manager found it easiest to reach out to him on Friday afternoons to see what he needed for the following week, so she didn’t have to deal with a Saturday or Sunday phone call from him. Well, one week she forgot to reach out. The client called on Monday morning frantic about his dogs and was very upset that he did not receive his reminder email. I mean, really?! As annoyed as I was about his attitude, it was our own fault for creating that expectation. I then stepped in and kindly explained to him our actual procedures for scheduling. He responded that if he didn’t receive the reminder from our office that he would take his business elsewhere. I said, “good riddance!” No, I didn’t actually say that. I wanted to, but I took the high road. I expressed my disappointment, but wished him and his pups the best of luck. They can now be someone else’s headache. I know that sounds harsh, but I’m telling you, if you start “unleashing” these types of negative, heartsick clients, you will make room for more of your ideal clients.

Unleashing negative, heartsick clients, you will make room for more of your ideal clients. Click To Tweet

I just went off on a bit of a tangent there. Back to boundaries and expectations…

How to Create Boundaries and Expectations

If you want your clients to communicate with you via email, don’t text them or accept reservations via text. Kindly explain to your customers that text messages sometimes fall through cracks and that you would prefer they use your online scheduler or email.

If you don’t want to be on call 24-hours per day, don’t answer the phone or emails in the evening. On your voicemail message include your office hours and when callers can expect to hear back from you. For your email, create an auto-responder, which includes the same info. Turn on the auto-responder at the end of the day and set a reminder to turn it off in the morning.

setting up a pet sitting business

The Downside of Doing “Extras”

I tell our sitters to please be careful with the extras they provide, because what will happen when the next sitter goes to their home? The client is going to expect the extras for which their new sitter isn’t obliged to provide because it’s not part of her job description.

Summary

You must create clear boundaries and expectations with your customers, so that you can leverage your time, your business and your sanity. This will allow you to manage many more customers and provide them all with a level of service that is top-notch and replicable.

Your Homework Assignment:

  • What expectations are you creating with your customers? How can you manage your customer’s expectations better?
  • What boundaries would you like to set?
  • Next, send out an email or snail mail letter explaining when and why your procedures are changing.
  • After your letter goes out, enforce your boundaries!

TIP: Remember…

“Those that mind don’t matter and those that matter don’t mind.” Click To Tweet
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